• An Giang
  • Binh Duong
  • Binh Phuoc
  • Binh Thuan
  • Binh Dinh
  • Bac Lieu
  • Bac Giang
  • Bac Kan
  • Bac Ninh
  • Ben Tre
  • Cao Bang
  • Ca Mau
  • Can Tho
  • Dien Bien
  • Da Nang
  • Da Lat
  • Dak Lak
  • Dak Nong
  • Dong Nai
  • Dong Thap
  • Gia Lai
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • Ha Giang
  • Ha Nam
  • Ha Tinh
  • Hoa Binh
  • Hung Yen
  • Hai Duong
  • Hai Phong
  • Hau Giang
  • Khanh Hoa
  • Kien Giang
  • Kon Tum
  • Lai Chau
  • Long An
  • Lao Cai
  • Lam Dong
  • Lang Son
  • Nam Dinh
  • Nghe An
  • Ninh Binh
  • Ninh Thuan
  • Phu Tho
  • Phu Yen
  • Quang Binh
  • Quang Nam
  • Quang Ngai
  • Quang Ninh
  • Quang Tri
  • Soc Trang
  • Son La
  • Thanh Hoa
  • Thai Binh
  • Thai Nguyen
  • Thua Thien Hue
  • Tien Giang
  • Tra Vinh
  • Tuyen Quang
  • Tay Ninh
  • Vinh Long
  • Vinh Phuc
  • Vung Tau
  • Yen Bai

VN elected to UN Economic and Social Council

VGP – Viet Nam has been elected to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) in the 2016-2018 period.

10/22/2015 08:58

With 182 approvals among 187 votes, the nation has become one of the 18 new members of the Council. The other members are Afghanistan, Algeria, Australia, Belgium, Chile, the Czech Republic, Guyana, Iraq, Italy, Lebanon, Nigeria, Peru, the Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa and the U.S.

High votes manifested Viet Nam's increasing status and achievements in the national development process as well as contributions to the UN in establishing a more advanced and better world.

The event has marked a new progress in the country's independent, self-reliant and active diplomatic policy in international integration as well as her social development and advance. 

The nation officially assumes the post on January 1, 2016 and in the next three years, she will make direct contributions to realizing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and renew and improve the effectiveness of the UN’s development system.

Earlier, Viet Nam successfully fulfilled its responsibilities as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council (2008-2009) and a member of the Human Rights Council (2014-2016).

ECOSOC, one of the six main organs of the United Nations established by the UN Charter in 1946, is the principal body for coordination, policy review, policy dialogue and recommendations on economic, social and environmental issues, as well as for implementation of the internationally agreed development goals.

It serves as the central mechanism for the activities of the United Nations system and its specialized agencies, and supervises the subsidiary and expert bodies in the economic, social and environmental fields.

By Thuy Dung