• An Giang
  • Binh Duong
  • Binh Phuoc
  • Binh Thuan
  • Binh Dinh
  • Bac Lieu
  • Bac Giang
  • Bac Kan
  • Bac Ninh
  • Ben Tre
  • Cao Bang
  • Ca Mau
  • Can Tho
  • Dien Bien
  • Da Nang
  • Da Lat
  • Dak Lak
  • Dak Nong
  • Dong Nai
  • Dong Thap
  • Gia Lai
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • Ha Giang
  • Ha Nam
  • Ha Tinh
  • Hoa Binh
  • Hung Yen
  • Hai Duong
  • Hai Phong
  • Hau Giang
  • Khanh Hoa
  • Kien Giang
  • Kon Tum
  • Lai Chau
  • Long An
  • Lao Cai
  • Lam Dong
  • Lang Son
  • Nam Dinh
  • Nghe An
  • Ninh Binh
  • Ninh Thuan
  • Phu Tho
  • Phu Yen
  • Quang Binh
  • Quang Nam
  • Quang Ngai
  • Quang Ninh
  • Quang Tri
  • Soc Trang
  • Son La
  • Thanh Hoa
  • Thai Binh
  • Thai Nguyen
  • Thua Thien Hue
  • Tien Giang
  • Tra Vinh
  • Tuyen Quang
  • Tay Ninh
  • Vinh Long
  • Vinh Phuc
  • Vung Tau
  • Yen Bai

VN adopts its product industrial classification

VGP - The PM has recently signed Decision 39/2010/QĐ-TTg promulgating the system of Vietnamese products in order to meet the boom of new products.

05/14/2010 18:23

Việt Nam’s product sectors are classified into seven levels – Illustration photo
Products will be classified in line with their respective economic industries, with seven levels with the first five ones similar to those stipulated in the Việt Nam Standard Industrial Classification (VSIC 2007). The 6th rank is product groups and the 7th - products.

The products to be listed in the system include material and service products, which are also divided into main and auxiliary products as well as production services.

Each product sector will be granted with a parent-child code in a continuous order. Unclassified products and production services will be encoded with the number 9. 

The Ministry of Planning and Investment said that the classification system is constructed in conformity with the international Central Product Classification (CPC Ver.2), the Statistical Classification of Products by Activity in the European Economic Community (CPA 2008), and the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS 2007).

Level 1 covers 21 product sectors encoded alphabetically from A to U (including products of agriculture, forestry and fishing; mining; manufactured products)

Level 2 consists of 88 sectors bearing two-digit codes in line with their respective level-1 sectors;

Level 3 includes 234 sectors bearing three-digit codes in line with their respective level-2 sectors;

Level 4: 411 sectors bearing four-digit codes in line with their respective level-3 sectors;

Level 5: 587 sectors bearing five-digit codes in line with their respective level-4 sectors;

Level 6: 1,406 sectors bearing six-digit codes in line with their respective level-5 sectors;

Level 7: 2,898 sectors bearing seven-digit codes in line with their respective level-6 sectors.

By Trinh Nguyen