• An Giang
  • Binh Duong
  • Binh Phuoc
  • Binh Thuan
  • Binh Dinh
  • Bac Lieu
  • Bac Giang
  • Bac Kan
  • Bac Ninh
  • Ben Tre
  • Cao Bang
  • Ca Mau
  • Can Tho
  • Dien Bien
  • Da Nang
  • Da Lat
  • Dak Lak
  • Dak Nong
  • Dong Nai
  • Dong Thap
  • Gia Lai
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • Ha Giang
  • Ha Nam
  • Ha Tinh
  • Hoa Binh
  • Hung Yen
  • Hai Duong
  • Hai Phong
  • Hau Giang
  • Khanh Hoa
  • Kien Giang
  • Kon Tum
  • Lai Chau
  • Long An
  • Lao Cai
  • Lam Dong
  • Lang Son
  • Nam Dinh
  • Nghe An
  • Ninh Binh
  • Ninh Thuan
  • Phu Tho
  • Phu Yen
  • Quang Binh
  • Quang Nam
  • Quang Ngai
  • Quang Ninh
  • Quang Tri
  • Soc Trang
  • Son La
  • Thanh Hoa
  • Thai Binh
  • Thai Nguyen
  • Thua Thien Hue
  • Tien Giang
  • Tra Vinh
  • Tuyen Quang
  • Tay Ninh
  • Vinh Long
  • Vinh Phuc
  • Vung Tau
  • Yen Bai

Nine Dynasty Urns in Hue recognized as UNESCO Memory of the World

VGP - The Nine Dynastic Urns, housed in the Hue Imperial Citadel in the central province of Thua Thien-Hue, have been inscribed in the Memory of the World Register.

May 09, 2024 2:37 PM GMT+7
Nine Dynasty Urns in Hue recognized as UNESCO Memory of the World - Ảnh 1.

The Nine Dynastic Urns in the Hue Imperial Citadel

The recognition was announced in Mongolia's capital on May 8 during the 10th plenary meeting of Memory of the World Committee for Asia and the Pacific. The urns received unanimous votes by all 23 member countries.

The Nine Dynastic Urns were cast in Emperor Minh Mang's Era (from October, 1835 to January, 1837). They were placed in front of The Mieu Temple, (where the kings of the Nguyen Dynasty are worshipped,) symbolizing the career of the emperors.

As requested by Emperor Minh Mang, they were named after the posthumous names of the emperors. The Nine Dynastic Urns are a sacred treasure which embodies the eternity of the dynasty and demonstrates the power and strength of a unified dynasty.

According to Hue Monuments Conservation Center, the Nine Dynastic Urns are like a picture encyclopedia with 162 delicately embossed patterns.

Artisans in the Minh Mang's era portrayed the landscape diversity of the country and typical objects of each region of the country such as stars, mountains, rivers, seas, gates, trees, flowers, animals, weapons, vessels, etc. The patterns on the urns are both royal and folk, familiar with most Vietnamese people.

Despite wars and harsh climate, the nine urns survive intact at their original location and were recognized as National Treasure in 2012.

With this addition, the country now boasts 10 heritage sites inscribed on the UNESCO Memory of the World Register in the Asia-Pacific region, including 3 documentary world and 7 documentary heritages./.