• An Giang
  • Binh Duong
  • Binh Phuoc
  • Binh Thuan
  • Binh Dinh
  • Bac Lieu
  • Bac Giang
  • Bac Kan
  • Bac Ninh
  • Ben Tre
  • Cao Bang
  • Ca Mau
  • Can Tho
  • Dien Bien
  • Da Nang
  • Da Lat
  • Dak Lak
  • Dak Nong
  • Dong Nai
  • Dong Thap
  • Gia Lai
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • Ha Giang
  • Ha Nam
  • Ha Tinh
  • Hoa Binh
  • Hung Yen
  • Hai Duong
  • Hai Phong
  • Hau Giang
  • Khanh Hoa
  • Kien Giang
  • Kon Tum
  • Lai Chau
  • Long An
  • Lao Cai
  • Lam Dong
  • Lang Son
  • Nam Dinh
  • Nghe An
  • Ninh Binh
  • Ninh Thuan
  • Phu Tho
  • Phu Yen
  • Quang Binh
  • Quang Nam
  • Quang Ngai
  • Quang Ninh
  • Quang Tri
  • Soc Trang
  • Son La
  • Thanh Hoa
  • Thai Binh
  • Thai Nguyen
  • Thua Thien Hue
  • Tien Giang
  • Tra Vinh
  • Tuyen Quang
  • Tay Ninh
  • Vinh Long
  • Vinh Phuc
  • Vung Tau
  • Yen Bai

Colombia, Cuba, South Africa join Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia

VGP - Colombia, Cuba and South Africa became the latest countries to join the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC), bringing the total number of signatories to 43 so far.

November 10, 2020 8:19 PM GMT+7

Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign Minister Pham Binh Minh (6th from left), ambassadors and reprentatives of ASEAN countries' embassies in Ha Noi and Ambassadors of Colombia, Cuba and South Africa pose for family photo after the signing ceremony. Photo: VGP

The signing ceremony of the instruments of accession to the TAC by Colombia, Cuba and South Africa was held online on November 10.

Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign Minister Pham Binh Minh, and other ASEAN Foreign Ministers witnessed the signing cremony.

In his remarks, Minh said the expansion of the treaty has reflected ASEAN’s position and role in enhancing cooperation, and in promoting peace and security in the region and the world.

The TAC was signed in Bali, Indonesia, in February 1976, becoming a key instrument governing relations between states to maintain regional peace and stability as well as one of the key codes of conduct in ASEAN’s central regional architecture.

In recent years, there is a growing interest of non-ASEAN member states in the treaty, Minh said, adding that the accession by Colombia, Cuba and South Africa to the TAC will further contribute to the reinforcement of importance and relevance of the treaty’s purposes and principles which encompass the peaceful settlement of disputes and resolutions of differences.

Minh called on the three countries to commit themselves to the purposes and strive further to strengthen cooperation with ASEAN while contributing to promoting peace and security in the region and beyond.

He also expressed his hope for more commitments, saying substantial and concrete actions should be put forth and taken to work towards a more peaceful, stable and prosperous region and the world.

Cuban FM Bruno Rodriguez Parrilla recognised the work of Viet Nam and ASEAN in the COVID-19 fight, and expressed his condolences to Cambodia, the Philippines, Laos, Thailand, and Viet Nam over the heavy human and property losses caused by recent weather calamities. This shows the need to continue sharing the best experience in coping with natural disasters, he said.

The signing takes place in an international context that shows the values of solidarity and cooperation to control global challenges, including the COVID-19 pandemic, said Deputy PM, FM Minh.

He pledged to cooperate with ASEAN in biotechnology, pharmacy, medical services, Spanish language teaching, culture, sports, and strategies to address climate change, suggesting the establishment of a joint biotech research and development centre in ASEAN and the conduction of clinical tests./.

By Quang Minh

Follow us on Facebook page @VNGov