• An Giang
  • Binh Duong
  • Binh Phuoc
  • Binh Thuan
  • Binh Dinh
  • Bac Lieu
  • Bac Giang
  • Bac Kan
  • Bac Ninh
  • Ben Tre
  • Cao Bang
  • Ca Mau
  • Can Tho
  • Dien Bien
  • Da Nang
  • Da Lat
  • Dak Lak
  • Dak Nong
  • Dong Nai
  • Dong Thap
  • Gia Lai
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • Ha Giang
  • Ha Nam
  • Ha Tinh
  • Hoa Binh
  • Hung Yen
  • Hai Duong
  • Hai Phong
  • Hau Giang
  • Khanh Hoa
  • Kien Giang
  • Kon Tum
  • Lai Chau
  • Long An
  • Lao Cai
  • Lam Dong
  • Lang Son
  • Nam Dinh
  • Nghe An
  • Ninh Binh
  • Ninh Thuan
  • Phu Tho
  • Phu Yen
  • Quang Binh
  • Quang Nam
  • Quang Ngai
  • Quang Ninh
  • Quang Tri
  • Soc Trang
  • Son La
  • Thanh Hoa
  • Thai Binh
  • Thai Nguyen
  • Thua Thien Hue
  • Tien Giang
  • Tra Vinh
  • Tuyen Quang
  • Tay Ninh
  • Vinh Long
  • Vinh Phuc
  • Vung Tau
  • Yen Bai

ASEAN appreciates Timor-Leste’ resolve to join bloc

VGP – The ASEAN Coordinating Council Working Group (ACCWG) on convened the 10th meeting in the form of a video format on October 8.

10/08/2020 17:56

Participants to the 10th meeting of the ASEAN Coordinating Council Working Group (ACCWG)

Participants to the meeting chaired by Deputy Foreign Minister and Head of Viet Nam’s ASEAN SOM Nguyen Quoc Dung underlined that ASEAN has actively assisted Timor-Leste in preparation for its admission to the bloc amid difficulties caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

They spoke highly of the resolve and efforts made by Timor-Leste to become an new member and agreed to continue support for Timor-Leste to enhance its capacity and gradually meet the ASEAN membership criteria and obligations.

The ASEAN Secretariat suggested a list of activities that Timor-Leste could join as an observer.

Speaking at the meeting, Deputy Foreign Minister Nguyen Quoc Dung assured that Viet Nam will continue necessary assistance for Timor-Leste, including sharing experience in preparation for joining the bloc.

Timor Leste submitted an application for ASEAN membership in 2011, and the ACCWG was formed in 2012 to evaluate the capability and readiness of Timor Leste.

ASEAN now comprises 10 member states, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam./

By Huong Giang