Print article

Gov't chief redefines functions, tasks, powers and structure of VN National Mekong Committee

VGP – The Viet Nam National Mekong Committee (VNMC) will be headed by a Deputy Prime Minister, according to Decision No. 619/QD-TTg defining functions, tasks, power and organizational structure of the VNMC, recently signed by Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc.

May 10, 2020 5:43 PM GMT+7

The Decision stipulates that the VNMC is an interdisciplinary coordination organization responsible for assisting the Prime Minister in directing and managing activities for effective and sustainable management and use of water and related resources in the entire Mekong River Basin in general and the Mekong River Delta and other Mekong River’s tributaries in Viet Nam.

The VNMC shall have to study and propose to the Government chief solutions to handle important, inter-disciplinary and international issues related to the basins.

It is entrusted to speed up the implementation of the Agreement on Cooperation for Sustainable Development of the Mekong River Basin and related regulations and procedures as well as inter-provincial water resource planning schemes and approved programs and projects on the Mekong Delta and Sesan-Srepok basins.

The Committee shall act as the focal point in cooperating with the countries in the Mekong River Basin, non-governmental organizations, international organizations in concretizing and organizing the implementation of the aforesaid Agreement.

The CNMC shall organize scientific search and put forward solutions to mitigate impacts of socio-economic activities of upstream countries on Viet Nam amid climate change context as well as Viet Nam’s socio-economic development activities on the Mekong River Basin.

It shall also monitor water resources and related activities in order to ensure fair and proper use of the Mekong River water resources and to protect Viet Nam’s interests.

The VNMC, which has its head office at No. 23 Hang Tre, Ha Noi and a representative office in Ho Chi Minh City, will be led by a Deputy Prime Minister. The Minister of Natural Resources and Environment is Standing Vice Chairman.

Other Vice Chairmen include Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Deputy Minister of Planning and Investment, and Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development./.

By Thuy Dung