Print article

Deputy PM Le Van Thanh assigned as Chairman of Mekong Delta Coordinating Council

VGP – Prime Minister Pham Minh Chinh has decided to assign Deputy Prime Minister Le Van Thanh as Chairman of the Mekong Delta Coordinating Council for 2020-2025.

July 06, 2021 3:18 PM GMT+7

Four Vice Chairmen of the Council are Minister of Planning and Investment Nguyen Chi Dung (permanent Vice Chairman), Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Tran Hong Ha, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Le Minh Hoan and Minister of Transport Nguyen Van The.  

The Council, set up in June 2020, is responsible for putting forwards to the PM mechanisms, policies, strategies, plans, projects, programs and tasks for the whole region in the direction of ensuring sustainable and climate-resilient development of the Mekong Delta.

It assists the PM in directing and overseeing the implementation of the regional master plan, strategies, mechanisms, policies, projects and programmes.

The Council is assigned to approve plans on the Mekong Delta sustainable development and organise regional investment, trade, tourism promotion events.

The Mekong Delta comprises the centrally-run city of Can Tho and 12 provinces-Long An, Dong Thap, Tien Giang, An Giang, Ben Tre, Vinh Long, Tra Vinh, Hau Giang, Kien Giang, Soc Trang, Bac Lieu, and Ca Mau./.

By Thuy Dung